4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 / 5)

“His Last Bow” is a collection of eight short-stories about the adventures of the detective Sherlock Holmes. Here are tales of murder, abductions, stolen information, and secrets. We follow Holmes as he endeavours to solve each of these mysteries.

The collection includes:
“The Adventure of Wisteria Lodge” (1908)
“The Adventure of the Cardboard Box” (1892)
“The Adventure of the Red Circle” (1911)
“The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans” (1908)
“The Adventure of the Dying Detective” (1913)
“The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax” (1911)
“The Adventure of the Devil’s Foot” (1910)
“His Last Bow. The War Service of Sherlock Holmes” (1917)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) was born in Scotland and studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh. After his studies, he worked as a ship’s surgeon on various boats. During the Second Boer War, he was an army doctor in South Africa. When he came back to the United Kingdom, he opened his own practice and started writing crime books. He is best known for his thrilling stories about the adventures of Sherlock Holmes. He published four novels and more than 50 short-stories starring the detective and Dr Watson, and they play an important role in the history of crime fiction. Other than the Sherlock Holmes series, Doyle wrote around thirty more books, in genres such as science-fiction, fantasy, historical novels, but also poetry, plays, and non-fiction.

Tags: ,

Pin It on Pinterest